• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

Newbie Question about Lift, Tires, & Wheels

215Grappler

3️⃣ Silver
Reaction score
Hey folks, I'm a newbie and I know this topic has been beaten to death but in all honesty I'm totally confused. I have a 2020 Tacoma Off Road coming in October with 16 inch wheels and the tires are P265/70R16. I want to get 33 inch tires to go off roading and for aesthetic reasons as well. I have read so many posts and viewed so many YouTube videos that I think I have information overload. My questions are these:
- Can I put 33" tires on 16" wheels or do I need to go up in size?
- What size lift do I need to accommodate the 33" tires? I'd prefer not to do any cutting or chopping if at all possible.
- What type of lift will I need - leveling or suspension? I don't plan to do any rock climbing. I'll mostly be off roading on fire trails, sand, etc. Nothing extreme.
- If I need a suspension lift can i get a decent one for under $1,000?

Thanks for your help!

I can’t give input on the tires, someone else for sure can though.

You want a suspension lift, leveling with make the ride terrible and doesn’t do anything for you other than raise it a bit. Performance of your suspension will suffer

You could get a set of add a leafs, 5100s front and rear for around 1k, possibly even 6112s/5160 combo. This is all Bilstein but there are others just not familiar with them.