• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

Warranty Need some opinions if i should keep my extended warranty or get money back, please help!!!

Daryl2021

2️⃣ Bronze
Reaction score
Hello Friends
I just bought my 2021 TRD Offroad>
I am new to this and have 3 Questions that I am concerned about:

1) I wanted to ask if its best to go with 87 or 91 octane when filling gas. I fill up at Costco.

2) I live in the area where catalytic-converters are stolen. I wanted to ask and get guidance if i should get my Tacoma's catalytic-converters secured. I hear one can go to dealer or muffler places & they install/weld things to secure the cats. So would my 2021 Tacoma need that. Or should I not worry. Please help!!!

3) Finally and big Question:
I know Tacoma comes with some standard warrantees. Is it worth buying/paying for extended warranty? I have 60 days to get my full money back.
-I paid like $1600 for Toyota Extra Care Platinum (electronics/electrical, etc) for additional 5yr/40K on top of basic which comes with 3yr/36K, for total of 8yr/76K
-I paid $1000 for Keys & Tire/Wheel Protection Platinum+ for 6yr
Please advise, friends. Really need your best guidance!

Thanks All.
CC: Tyler (Site Admin)
Daryl.

1. Regular, ALWAYS regular. If you needed Premium your manual would tell you. Higher octane gas is bad for engines not designed for it.
2. I'm not the person to ask. I live in a state with no inspections so if someone stole my cat I'd just weld in straight pipes.