• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

navigation

TacoHog

4️⃣ Gold
Reaction score
2017 Pro DCSB Manual
Cement
Hi Guys - any suggestions on the best way to se up navigation? I'm considering a Garmin in reach and iPad ? any thoughts ?im not very tech savvy so im bring to figure out best configuration - can you download or link off road maps on the stock navigation? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

I've got a Galaxy Tab S6 lite that I run GaiaGPS on and then usually also run Google maps on one of my phones. Sometimes I'll get stupid Entune running as well. I built a magnetic setup for mounting everything.

Gaia GPS on a phone or tablet is pretty sweet, it'll also run on CarPlay if your truck is able.
And, always carry back up paper maps for your location.

Yep. Not too hard. Gaia is great, lots of online support, and tons of maps. You'll like it.

Gaia works Good. Personally I only use Gaia and google maps pro to plan Routes and possible camp sites. For in rig navigation I use the gear in overlander and also the In reach 66i. I have the iPad with Gaia with me but rarely use it enroute.