• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

Mysterious front end noise

JohnnyUtah253

2️⃣ Bronze
Reaction score
2018 TRD OR DCSB Auto
Cement
My Tacoma started making this funny noise on the passenger side front wheel, I’m not a mechanic but It definitely sounds like it’s coming from the CV axel area but there’s noting loose or causing it to make that noise. It only happens here and there and certain angles my truck is at. It’s not all time, but definitely concerns me. Does anyone have a clue ? I have read and googled this matter and some of them say some off the wall Stuff. Body mount ? There tight, wheel bearings? I doubt it it’s still brand new. I put a bilstien lift on my truck also but I don’t think it could be from the lift, I can’t seem To figure it out.

I'm having the same issue. I only have 1,200 miles on mine and its in the front passenger side. A clunk when I take off from a stop and any time I hit a bump or dip. You can hear it too when you push on the bumper and work the suspension up and down. If yours makes the noise when you push up and down on the bumper its prob suspension related. Mine goes into the dealer on Friday to get figured out. Hopefully the weather warms up since it's gone away after the temp drop.

Did yours happen before or after the lift? Did you install a transfer case drop to adjust cv angle?

Upvote 0