• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

Help! 2020 Tacoma Frontend Popping Noise

Calikid74

2️⃣ Bronze
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to the world of Toyota, as my 2020 Tacoma Sport is my very first Toyota purchase ever. I really want to love this truck, but with less than 500 miles, I have already experienced a ton of issues. Aside from the noisy dash, which unbeknownst to me apparently comes standard in all Tacoma models, my frontend intermittently pops and cracks when steering and making turns. It’s loud and very noticeable. Has anyone else experienced this issue and did anyone find the culprit? I took it to Toyota once and they were of course unable to reproduce the issue.

Can you describe the noise a little more? When does it happen? Is it more of a creaking? Metal on metal?
My front end creaks when I turn hard in reverse.

Upvote 0
I’ve been trying to hang my phone out of the window while driving to grab a video of the noise at its worst, but haven’t had much luck. I did get a little snippet of the popping noise while slowly backing out of a driveway. I just began to turn the steering wheel to the right and you can hear a double popping noise. The noise after that is me putting the truck into drive.

View attachment 23602

Last edited by a moderator:
Upvote 0