• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

DIY Camper or Trailer?

Kevinlj74

2️⃣ Bronze
Reaction score
Looking for opinions and/or experience with either.

I've been using my RTT for a few years and love it during good weather, however when the weather turns bad, gets cold, and the dreaded wind starts blowing, the short falls of a RTT really become apparent. I really want a hard sided camping solution that has no fabric what so ever. This is manly for wind, I hate the noise from fabric shelters when its windy. Better insulation and weather proofing is also desired.
I've come up with what I feel is a pretty good DIY design for a hard sided wedge pop up slide in camper. I chose a slide in design for complete wether sealing. A camper "cap" is nearly impossible to completely seal ( mainly in the tailgate area ). Being slide in, I can design a hopefully clever way to store camper jacks on it when traveling that don't decrease clearance, allowing me to unload it and then explore in the truck.
My wife has a 5th get 4runner. It would be great to have a hard sided camping solution that could be used with both vehicles. This means an off road trailer seems to be the only solution. I've also got a design for a hard sided pop up off road trailer that uses the same principles as the camper. The reason for a "pop up" design is to able to stand up, and have livable space to be inside for extended periods during bad weather, but keep size and height in check for off road travel.