• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

Atkinson Cycle?

StormRnr

6️⃣ Aficionado
Tacoma3G Supporter
Reaction score
2017 TRD OR DCSB Auto
Silver Sky
Can you feel the engine go in and out of Atkinson Cycle?

I'm new to my 3rd Gen and also new to modern auto transmissions. I can feel "shifting" that seems more like a change in power not a change in RPM/torque.

-M

I can’t feel the Atkinson. That being said, I also felt the same changes in power from shifting that I attributed to the transmission “learning” period.

I cannot feel it either.

Still not 100% sure about it either but I honestly only care if something goes wrong lol

I don't belive I've ever felt it kick in or out.
The 2GR FKS isn't a true atkinson cycle. The variable valve timing changes the compression to allow the engine to run more efficiently under minimal load like while idling or at cruising speed. I think the idea is you shouldn't notice it. If you accelerate the engine should kick back to Otto cycle. At least that how I understand it after reading post from orange virus tuning.

The change in power feeling could be the torque converter locking and unlocking. For example when your on the highway going up a small hill and the rpms jump by a few hundred but its not enough to be a full downshift. Thats the torque converter unlocking to make a little more umph.

Last edited: