• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

Opinions Wanted

CapnJack

4️⃣ Gold
Tacoma3G Supporter
Reaction score
2020 TRD OR DCSB Manual
White
Hello - Newby here , Let me introduce myself here.... My wife and I finally took advantage of Toyotas 0% financing and purchased
our first Tacoma - 2020 TRD OR DCSB Manual Tranny.
I'm not a mechanic by no means just an electrician so I carry a different set of tools.
My terminology may not be spot on but I can google.

So here is a brief explanation on what we are trying to accomplish.

We have added a ladder rack to bed.
Will be adding a 75 Lb bumper to the front.
Future Steel bumper possibly to the rear.
Would Like to Stay Stock on Wheels and Tires.
Aluminum Boat 17' will be towed off and on.
No serious Offroading.
We live in the Midwest so Deep Snow in Winter.
Hunting fall and winter - So this truck will see some Dash Cleaners

I have called 3 different Suspension Company and have gotten 3 different
opinions on What we need. Evereything from Just Airbags to Leveling Kits
to Full Suspension Makeovers, to a combination of them.

We would not want to add more than 1" or so of height if we can help it.

What are some opinions on what we should do - Any body else run this same setup?

Sumo shocks get my vote. They are cheap, effective and any idiot can install them. I am proof of the last item. You don't need anything more than that for what you are describing. Put them in the rear and forget about them...just like a suppository.

Last edited: