• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

New to the Toyota World

Tshaw2009

2️⃣ Bronze
Reaction score
2019 TRD OR DCSB Auto
Cement
Howdy Folks,

My name is Tony Shaw and I'm thinking about becoming a convert to the Taco Community. I'm also an Army Combat Veteran (OEF). I've ran big lifted Fords and Chevys my entire life (I'm only 29 lol), admitting that neither of them have the reputation of reliability that Toyota pickups have. For reliability's sake and also for the sake of extremely high resale value, I'm thinking of making the switch. There are two models I'm looking at and a couple packages I'm looking at on one of the models and would love the feedback from those of you running these two rigs. This is what I'm looking at:

1. 20/21 TRD Off Road
a. Technology Package with Options?
b. TRD Premium Off Road Package with Options?
2. 20/21 TRD Pro

First I do plan on using this vehicle for off-roading purposes and will probably lift either of the models to fit 33s. We hope to maybe start doing some mild overlanding and extended camping trips with the kiddos. With that being said which model would you go with? If you were to pick the TRD Off Road, do you think the Premium Off Road Package is worth it for the money (I'm more of a no frills kind of guy) or would you be satisfied with the Tech Package with Options? Thanks for all your help guys and gals!