• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

How to back up a trailer in 5 easy steps

StormRnr

6️⃣ Aficionado
Tacoma3G Supporter
Reaction score
2017 TRD OR DCSB Auto
Silver Sky
So for many of us a trailer is a critical camping and overlanding accessory. Recently a friend who follows my channel and Instagram, and knows I'm a trailer expert (read: someone who posts photos of his trailer and pretends to know what he's talking about) asked if I'd help him learn how to back up a trailer. So since it features a Tacoma, I thought I'd share it here. Video is at the top and the narrative is below. LMK what you think about my trailer backing method. The video was kind of a quick last minute thing so I shot it with my iPhone and didn't do much editing. My usual content is much more polished.

How to Back up a Trailer in 5 easy Steps

Original link: https://youtu.be/S8sqbrbE3Pc

As you may know, I have a trailer. It’s a really cool customized 4×4 trailer that’s been in my family for 30 years. In that time I’ve learned a thing or two about backing trailers up, or at least this one, in many different situations. Most recently, I made a bad decision to try to tow it up the Steam shovel jeep trail and had to stuff it up into a Pinyon tree to get it turned around.

Backing a trailer on a mountain road