• Welcome to Tacoma3G.com, a free resource for 2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma owners!

This website is the passion-project of a USMC veteran/mechanic, @Tyler. I created Tacoma3G.com to share my knowledge of this subject with others and to provide like-minded folks with a comfortable space to ask questions and create 'build threads' within our Tacoma Forums. Now, if the format of this website is confusing to navigate for you, or if you're interested in my full mission and T3G's history, check out the Help and About pages.

Coffee Roasters

2️⃣ Bronze
Reaction score
Any of you folks roast your own?

I've been buying raw beans ( coffeebeancorral ) for about 2 years now, El Salvador, Nicaraguan, Columbian, .. roasting my own, bagging it,
letting it set-up a day or two and then grind each morning -

If you've thought about it it's not that difficult - it's just like anything else we cook... it's all about the temp.
There's 2 things that will kill a roast:
1. Drop in temp, called a 'stall' will make the coffee taste sour
2. Over-roasting... or baking... or burned... coffee will taste like ash

Other than that:
1. Keep temps rising at all times
2. When the beans reach a certain temp ( around 405-415 ) they will 'pop'... referred to as first-crack
This critical phase is where the flavor is released and the temp should NEVER start dropping ...
The temp should continue to climb but at a slower pace..
3. After first-crack is complete the beans will 'crackle' - this is called second-crack and happens around 450-460 degrees
Timing here is critical.. some people pull their beans after first-crack but I like to send mine into second-crack for 5-7 seconds,
anything much longer and the beans will 'bake' (see #2 above)
4. Next is the cool-down... once you are done you got 4 minutes to cool those beans down to 100 or below
5. Then bag and squeeeeeeeze the bag every so often to push out the CO2 that is released - keep it air-tight but allow the CO2 to escape